UK branch network - meet industry professionals locally

Our branch network is the backbone of the Institute

Run entirely by passionate volunteers, our branch network is a major benefit to members.  The local branches run events on behalf of the members to share knowledge, network and socialise.  Contact your local branch to find out more.

Institute-of-Quarrying-branch-network-meet-industry-professionals-locally.png
[fa icon="plus-square"] Derbyshire Branch

Mainly based out of the towns of Buxton and Ashbourne, Derbyshire branch is one of IQ's longest running branches.  It was inaugurated in 1923 and its first Chairman was Mr Tom Ryan who was managing director of T. Ryan Somerville Ltd - later known as Hillhead Quarry.

Please contact any of the following for more information about the activities of the Derbyshire branch:

Chairman
John McGough MIQ
Tel: 07972 717 279
E-mail: jhmcgough@yahoo.co.uk

Vice Chairman
Simon Cutler
E-mail: simon.cutler@chepstowplant.com 

Secretary
John Hattersley MIQ
Mob: 07966 507975
E-mail: john@bwph.co.uk

Programme Secretary
Nigel Morton FIQ
Tel: 07812 338553
E-mail: nigel.morton@suon.net   

Local Branch News

Branch Newsletter - issue 1

Branch Newsletter - issue 2

Branch Newsletter - issue 3

Branch Newsletter - issue 4

[fa icon="plus-square"] Devon and Cornwall Branch

The Devon & Cornwall branch is primarily run out of Launceston.

Please contact any of the following or more information about local branch activities:

Chairman
Jonathan Attwood

Deputy Chairman
Andy Thomas
Tel: 07870 919371
Email: Andrew.thomas1@hanson.biz

Branch Secretary
Penny Brodie
Email: penny.brodie@hanson.biz

Local Branch News

[fa icon="plus-square"] Lancashire Branch

Lancashire branch is a region that covers some large towns and cities.  Predominantly based out of Carnforth, it also includes Bolton, Manchester, Stockport, Liverpool, Wigan and the Wirral.

President's Branch Trophy Winners in: 1997-1998; 2010-2011; 2011-2012 and 2012-2013.

Please contact any of the following for more information about the activities of the Lancashire branch:

Chairman
Mark Broadley
Tel: 07740 934603
Email: mark.broadley@aggregate.com

Vice Chairman
Glyn Barnes
Email: glyn.barnes@bamritchies.co.uk

Secretary
Sam Wrathall
Email: swrat1@hanson.biz

Treasurer
Ian Thomas
Email: ian.thomas@aggregate.com

Local Branch News

Branch Newsletter - February 2017

Branch Newsletter - April 2016

Branch Newsletter - March 2016

Branch Newsletter - September 2015

[fa icon="plus-square"] London and the Homes Counties Branch

This region covers all of the south east from the Isle of Wight and Channel Islands right up to Oxfordshire.

Please contact any of the following for more information about the activities of the London and Home Counties branch:

Honorary Chairman
Iain Ormrod
E-mail: iain.ormrod@tarmac.com

Deputy Honorary Chairman 
Gary Langton
E-mail: gary.langton@brett.co.uk

Honorary Secretary
Mary Carter
Tel: 01279 450011
E-mail: mary@flpsg.co.uk

Branch representative to Council
Tyrone Partridge
E-mail: tyrone.partridge@daygroup.co.uk

Committee Members
Glyn Richards
E-mail: glyn.richards@cemex.com

Will Taylor
E-mail: will.taylor@brett.co.uk

Local Branch News

[fa icon="plus-square"] Midlands Branch

Based out of Coalville, this branch covers the east midlands, up to Lincolnshire in the north and west through to parts of Warwickshire.

President's Branch Trophy Winners: 2008-2009 and 2009-2010.

For any queries about the Midlands branch please contact us on 0115 972 9995 or mail@quarrying.org

[fa icon="plus-square"] North of England Branch

The North of England branch covers all of the north east part of the country.

President's Branch Trophy Winners in 1996-1997; 2000-2001; joint winners with South Wales in 2007-2008; 2013-2014 and 2014-2015.

Please contact any of the following for more information about the activities of the North of England branch:

Chairman
Iain Smith
E-mail: iain.smith@tarmac.com

Secretaries
Greg Anson
E-mail: greg.d.anson@btinternet.com

Susan Arnott
E-mail: susan.arnott@tarmac.com

Local Branch News

Branch Newsletter - July 2017

Branch Newsletter - January 2017

Branch Newsletter - September 2015

[fa icon="plus-square"] North Wales Branch

The original home of the Institute of Quarrying, North Wales branch has a long tradition of supporting its local members.

Please contact any of the following for more information about the activities of the North Wales branch:

Chairman
Rob Maurice-Jones
Tel: 07894 491036
E-mail: rob.maurice-jones@tarmac.com

Vice Chairman
Colin Scott
Tel: 07720 496861
E-mail: colin.scott@liebherr.com

Secretary
Mark Hodgkinson
E-mail: mark.hodgkinson@welshslate.com 

Local Branch News

[fa icon="plus-square"] Northern Ireland Branch

Our Northern Ireland branch is based out of Antrim.

Please contact any of the following for more information about the activities of the Northern Ireland branch:

Chairman
Sam Eccles
E-mail:sameccles3@btinternet.com

Vice Chairman
Roy Wallace
E-mail: roy.wallace@orica.com

Honorary Secretary/Treasurer
David Johnston
Mob: 07887 514 410
E-mail: jabezsafetysolutions@btinternet.com

Local Branch News

 

[fa icon="plus-square"] Scottish Branch

The Scottish branch is based out of Stirling.

Please contact any of the following for more information about the activities of the Scottish branch:

Chairman
Andrew Gillon
Tel: 07976 340 361
E-mail: andy.gillon@solway-precast.co.uk

Vice Chairman
Ian Christie 
Tel: 07774 989 072
E-mail: ian.christie@bamritchies.co.uk

Local Branch News

[fa icon="plus-square"] South Wales Branch

South Wales branch have won the President's Branch Trophy 3 times.

President's Branch Trophy Winners: 2002-2003; joint winners with West of England in 2006-2007 and joint winners with North of England 2007-2008.

Please contact any of the following for more information about the activities of the South Wales branch:

Chairman
Simon Swinford
Mobile: 07557 418496
E-mail: husky410@btinternet.com

Vice Chairman
Nicola Bartholomey
E-mail: nicola.bartholomey@tarmac.com

Secretary
Brett Morris
Mobile: 07841 569218
E-mail: brett.morris@cnhind.com

[fa icon="plus-square"] West of England Branch

West of England branch have won the prestigious Presiden't Branch Trophy a record 6 times.

President's Branch Trophy Winners in: 1998-1999; 2001-2002; 2003-2004; 2004-2005; 2005-2006 and joint winners with South Wales in 2006-2007.

Please contact any of the following for more information about the activities of the West of England branch:

Chairman
Peter Mole
E-mail: Peter.Mole@aggregate.com

Deputy Chairman
Mark Hughes 
E-mail: mark.hughes@finning.co.uk 

Secretary
Val Isaac
E-mail: v.isaac@btinternet.com

Local Branch News

[fa icon="plus-square"] West Midlands Branch

The West Midlands branch is based out of Telford.

Please contact any of the following for more information about the activities of the West Midlands branch:

Chairman
Richard Frost
Tel: 07739 208132
E-mail: rfrost@crh.com

Secretary
Stephen Webb
Tel: 07740 633547
E-mail: stephen.webb@tarmac.com

Local Branch News

[fa icon="plus-square"] Yorkshire Branch

The Yorkshire branch is based out of Wetherby.

President's Branch Trophy Winners: 1999-2000.

Please contact any of the following for more information about the activities of the Yorkshire branch:

Chairman
Steve Curtin 
Tel: 07841 367457
E-mail: steven.curtin@tarmac.com

Vice Chairman
Tim Harvey
Tel: 01723 862 142
E-mail: tim.harvey@hanson.biz

Branch Secretary
Kevin Parker
Tel: 01765 635435
E-mail: kevin@lightwaterholdings.com

Local Branch News